The Marshall Tucker Band and Jefferson Starship


The Marshall Tucker Band came together as a young, hungry, and quite driven six-piece outfit in Spartanburg, South Carolina in 1972. They have been tearing it up on live stages across the globe ever since while racking up multi-platinum album sales many times over. It’s their inimitable down-home sonic style that helped make the MTB the first truly progressive Southern band to grace this nation’s airwaves with hits like “Heard It in a Love Song,” “Can’t You See”, “Fire on the Mountain,” “Long Hard Ride,” and “Ramblin.’” Today, the Marshall Tucker Band’s legacy is being carried forward by lead vocalist and bandleader Doug Gray and his current bandmates, drummer B.B. Borden, bassist Ryan Ware, keyboardist Marcus James Henderson, guitarist Chris Hicks, and guitarist Rick Willis.

When founding member Paul Kantner formed Jefferson Starship in the ’70s, he envisioned the band as a cast of musical adventurers. When the current lineup of the band came together alongside Kantner as a unit in 2012, with many members joining years before, he couldn’t have imagined that the band would become the road-conquering heroes they’ve been in the last few years. In addition to original member David Freiberg, the band includes drummer Donny Baldwin (whose Jefferson Starship roots go back to 1982), keyboardist Chris Smith (who joined in 1998), guitarist Jude Gold (who joined in 2012), and singer and guitarist Cathy Richardson who joined in 2008.

Desert Diamond Sahuarita
Diamond Center

Friday, July 26 | 8pm

Tickets on Sale Now!